|<- Back||Next ->|
The ring of fortifications surrounded the suburbs in the period from 1540 to 1549 under Abd al-Aziz-khan the first. Researchers identify the names of eleven of the city gates (five of which were located in the extant area of the wall). Only two of them that was built towards the close of the 16th century are intact now: Talipach gate in the north and Karakul gate in the south-west. The Sheikh Djalal gate in the south has disappeared only recently.